Social Media / Web 2.0 Involvement and Assessment by Dave Huish

  1. Mostly I am engaged with Facebook and YouTube. I also use Twitter, LinkedIn, Pintrest, IMDB, Yelp, Instagram, Flickr, Dropbox, Google Drive, Google Docs, Google Maps, Grooveshark, Prezi, StumbleUpon, Wikipedia and WordPress. I am sure I’ve missed some but if I have it means I don’t uses them enough to remember them.

 

  1. I use Facebook almost on an hourly basis. I use Twitter, Dropbox, Google Drive, Google Docs, Grooveshark, and Wikipedia daily. LinkedIn, IMDB, Google Maps and WordPress I use weekly and the rest I use on a monthly basis or less.

 

  1. I definitely have different habits on each site. For example Facebook is primarily for friends and family or people who share similar interests and we talk like friends. I also just started another Facebook account for computer science/web design/development only which is much more professional. Twitter is mostly professional unless I am using a direct message with someone. Instagram is personal were as the rest lean much more towards professional especially LinkedIn.

 

  1. I engage in all I can simply because I have to be familiar with each social media and web 2.0 platform because in the field of web design and development I need to know my different potential audiences and the ins and outs of these sites. I do not need them all for my own personal portfolio website but I need to be ready for the demands of future clients and/or employers. I also use Social Media to stay connected with friends and family from all over the world. I use it to connect with people who like saltwater/reef aquariums and web design/development. I use it to stay in the know of things going on in these industries and to collaborate with like-minded people.

 

  1. I would like to see the easier ability to filter content. For example the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge is a great cause but after watching them for a while I didn’t care to see anymore. I would like to see easier development and easier APIs or maybe some free tutorials and training on development and using APIs to advance the awesomeness of certain Social Media platforms and Web 2.0 sites. I think they already to a great job at making this info available but more would always be better.

 

  1. I will not use the Social Networking aspect of recruiting friends to play games that I have been playing or sharing worthless gamification stats, like proclaiming to the world of Facebook or Twitter that I reached level 70 virgin wizard on World of War Craft or 2,000,000, I don’t have any real friends, points on Candy Crush. I don’t do this because I don’t have time to and I know others don’t really care about my progress or points in a game unless we are playing together. I also won’t share post that say things like if you are a good ___________ you will share this. I don’t like someone using guilt or otherwise manipulating me to do something. I don’t like to give an app full access to my Facebook account, mainly because I don’t think they need everything they claim they do and I don’t like to read the fine print of the terms and conditions.
One thought on “Social Media / Web 2.0 Involvement and Assessment by Dave Huish

Leave a Reply

