“Generation Like”

“Generation Like” was an eye opener for me. As most of you now know, I work directly in the digital marketing industry and finally saw my job being performed by someone else while I got to sit back and analyze. The company that I work for (Weld) is almost identical to “The Audience” agency that was highlighted in the documentary. Instead of working with high profile individuals to build a social platform, we work with large corporations to bring their brand and products into societies news feeds. I’ve actually paid celebrities to post and even go as far as have them take over one of our clients social media accounts in order to boost the social platform and raise sales for the client. One time, I was even able to hire a popular photographer friend to do an Instagram takeover for one of my clients. The process in which I used to select and pay the celebrity was essentially the same exact formula that I saw used in “Generation Like”. I started by creating two separate profiles of our ideal demographic users we were trying to target through the marketing campaign by breaking down the websites they visit and people they ‘like’ or ‘follow’ through social media. Once I gathered that data, I was able to see who our targeted audience liked the most and had the closest relation to us. This is the next generation of marketing and is here to stay. Whether we like it or not, social media and the interaction we have with it is making marketing for companies easier than ever before and we’re essentially doing most of the work. GENIUS.

-Dillon Green
Screen Shot 2015-09-18 at 11.36.40 PM

Leave a Reply

