Snapchat Terms of Service

Snapchat-flashy-features

In the recent update of Snapchat, some users quickly sniffed out some suspicious additions to their Terms of Service. This specific addition had users worried about the privacy of their photos, and felt violated that it was “okay” to sell their private photos for profit.

Here’s the actual part of the Terms of Service where Snapchat says that:

You grant Snapchat a worldwide, perpetual, royalty-free, sublicensable, and transferable license to host, store, use, display, reproduce, modify, adapt, edit, publish, create derivative works from, publicly perform, broadcast, distribute, syndicate, promote, exhibit, and publicly display that content in any form and in any and all media or distribution methods (now known or later developed)

Another addition that scares users is that Snapchat wants full access to your name and user profile, and the right to license and market them worldwide. Not only does Snapchat store your data that was previously deleted upon opening, but now they want to attach your name to them as well. Read the section below:

To the extent it’s necessary, you also grant Snapchat and our business partners the unrestricted, worldwide, perpetual right and license to use your name, likeness, and voice in any and all media and distribution channels (now known or later developed) in connection with any Live Story or other crowd-sourced content you create, upload, post, send, or appear in. This means, among other things, that you will not be entitled to any compensation from Snapchat or our business partners if your name, likeness, or voice is conveyed through the Services.

It’s disturbing that you can basically sign away all your rights when you update your apps. Be careful and remember to read the fine print!

JB

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s