SM/Web 2.0 Assessment

Some of us are afraid to admit it but we are infatuated with the idea of seeing glimpses into the lives and minds of those around us. We are constantly checking our feeds for new posts, swiping down to manually update the stream. I used to be right there in the thick of it. Twitter, Facebook, Instagram, Snapchat, and many others have be come the way we connect with the world around us, and the people around us. I have now narrowed my connections to a few sites. Instagram is my butter. It is based entirely around users posting images to share their day, or their dinner, or their car selfie cause they just look that good today. I couldn’t agree more that a picture is worth a 1000 words, and where Twitter limits you to 140 characters I felt stifled. I dunno maybe Im not witty enough. Now don’t get me wrong I get twitter, its different, and for good reason. But its not for me I never have been able to stay engaged. So I keep tabs on my Instagram every few hours to see my friends and families lives through images (and witty one liners). No celebrities or politicians just people I actually know and have met in person. Occasionally I will get on Facebook late at night when I can’t sleep and need to see a good meme or a funny video that has 1.3 million shares just because. I don’t love Facebook, I am not a stalker, and if I want info about an event or a company I find their website. And if some one wants me to come to their event they can text me. Facebook went from being about people to being a mess of videos and links to so much nonsense. Snapchat is for making stupid faces and clips of my kid screaming with my wife at her wits end. I use Pinterest for home projects and LinkedIn for… well my nothing really. But every platform has its purpose and its place, some are more engaging than others but all in all I wouldn’t change much. There is enough avenues for anyone out there to become connected, and engage in “the conversation” that they just need to find the one that best works for them, their message and those that they are trying to reach.

^BB

 

Leave a Reply

