Generation Like? Or the Man Behind the Curtain?

watercolor-social-media-logos_23-2147510704
How Many “Likes” Do you Have?

Today I took a plunge.  I entered the world of Social Media and joined Facebook.  I know, my heart is still racing.  Literally an hour after joining Facebook, I watched PBS Nightline’s news story, “Generation Like.” I’m still trying to decide if that was a good thing or a bad thing.  The news story is all about how the upcoming generation (teenagers especially) are basing their self worth on “likes.”  Companies have taken notice and are using it to their advantage.  Social media is the new wave of marketing.  You want a product to be a hit and sell like crazy?  Get teenagers to “like” it on Facebook, Twitter, etc.  You want to market a new movie, or get big in the music industry?  – get “likes.”  Teens love to feel like their voices are being heard and that they have a platform.  The internet has become their platform.  Something I learned from watching “Generation Like” is that so much of what is “liked” on the internet is carefully orchestrated by marketing groups.  Teens think that they are being original by “liking” something online, but the marketing companies are working really hard to make it seem that way.  One man on the story said it’s a lot like the wizard from the “Wizard of Oz.” People feel like the internet is magic, but there’s a lot of work, thinking, planning, and marketing that goes into that magic. “Pay no attention to the man behind the curtain.” (MGM The Wizard of Oz)

Deep down, I know that Facebook could be a waste of time; I may even end up in the corner drooling, uttering things like, “like, friend, wall, status, etc.” One thing I do know is that I won’t be basing my worth on how many “likes” I get.  Honestly, I’ll be surprised if I get any.

Check out Generation Like for yourself:  http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/frontline/film/generation-like/

Image: https://image.freepik.com/free-vector/watercolor-social-media-logos_23-2147510704.jpg

AL

Leave a Reply

