What’s the name of that actor…?

I’ve never had much interest in this so-called “Web 2.0.”  I only recently got a Facebook page (for work, I swear). I still don’t really understand Snapchat (Why do your videos disappear?) This blog post is my first ever (it’s probably obvious). I feel confident that I could easily give up any Web 2.0 characteristic or application.

Except…

I recently watched a TV show called Wrecked. The show could easily be renamed Lost: the Comedy, because it follows a group of people trapped on an island after a plane crash (It’s hilarious, you should check it out.) One of the running jokes on the show is that no one on the island can remember the actor who played Kate Winslet’s fiancé in Titanic. And without smartphones, no one can look it up.

(I couldn’t remember either, so I looked it up on my smartphone.)

I don’t know what my life would be if I couldn’t connect to the internet on the go. What would I do while I’m waiting at the doctor’s office? Or riding TRAX? Would I have to resort to playing solitaire? Do I even still have solitaire on my phone? I certainly wouldn’t have been able to look up the actor who played Kate Winslet’s fiancé in Titanic. It would’ve kept me up at night.

So, as I begin my journey into the Web 2.0, the only thing I know for sure is that I could never give up mobile internet accessibility. And luckily, I’m not stranded on a desert island in the middle of the Pacific, so I can continue to look up the answers to life’s most important questions.

Oh, by the way, it was Billy Zane.

 

^CD

Leave a Reply

